Finding my writing self in 2014

I can honestly say that 2013 was not my year. In fact, it can be described as one of the top 5 bad years. And even though 2014 is not starting out strong, it still has the shiny new packaging of a year with promise and potential.

There have been a few good moments in 2013, though looking back they are hard to see. I managed to do more personal writing in 2013 then I’ve done in a long time. Though that has taken a back seat at the moment as a new job is making my hours crazy. But I intend to get back to it. I am making it a personal goal to carve out writing time for 2014. Even if I have to forcefully schedule it in every day instead of the winging it write as you think of something style I’ve had in the past.

I have a few other personal goals I want to meet this year, but writing is my main focus. It still shocks me that I don’t write as much as I need to since I am always generating new ideas, paragraphs of writing, and introspective thoughts that may lead somewhere. I realize now that I am not making writing a priority in my life. I am lazy and haphazard when it comes to my writing life and if I am going to get anything completed I need to step it up a notch.

I’m having a hard time coming to grips with how lackadaisical I am with my writing. I remember a time when I would stay up late to finish a story or poem then wake up early to start the next one. I’d blame it on the realities of life, but let’s be honest, other writers have to balance their writing with the rest of their life and they manage to do it without complaining. So yeah, it’s me and my attitude toward life right now. And that is what needs to change.

I need to take control. Take some of these ideas churning through my brain and turn them into something. I need to put my stuff out there and start getting some feedback on my writing so that I can improve. I need to challenge myself, push myself forward, and become the writer I think I am in my head. And I need to learn to do it while juggling all the other aspects of my life and not let it slide by the wayside when something else gets a bit complicated. If I am ever going to be the writer I want to be, I need to start writing, period. Beginning today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

